Senior Pastor Marcus Mackay
Marcus Mackay
Senior Pastor

Rev. Marcus Mackay has accepted a call to become Senior Pastor for Advent Evangelical Lutheran Church LCMS. Rev. Mackay’s education includes a Bachelor of Arts from Concordia University, WI, and a Master of Divinity from Concordia Seminary in St. Louis. He spent three years at Friends in Christ Lutheran Church in Bryant, Arkansas, and then eleven years as Sole/Senior Pastor at Peace Lutheran Church in Hastings, Nebraska. Rev. Mackay is relocating to Zionsville with his wife Jena and sons Malachi, Matthias, Micah, and Marc. In a message to the congregation regarding his upcoming work at Advent, Rev. Mackay quoted John 15:16 – Jesus said, “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you.”

The installation service will be December 9th at 3:00pm at Advent. Rev. Dr. Jamison Hardy, Bishop for the English District LCMS, and visiting from McMurray, Pennsylvania, will install Rev. Mackay. A reception will be held immediately following the service in the adjoining Fellowship Hall. 

Assistant Pastor
James Grady
Assistant Pastor
James is a lifelong Lutheran who, after an eighteen year career as a critical care nurse, left to answer a call to the ministry.  “Jim” finished his studies at Concordia Theological Seminary in Fort Wayne in 2017 and was recently  installed as Advent Lutheran’s Assistant Pastor.  
In addition to his Bachelors of Science in Nursing from Indiana University, he was ordained in August 2017 as a general Pastor in the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod. 
Jim and his wife Debbie live in Noblesville, IN. They have been married 26 years and have two daughters, Megan and Natalie, who are both attending college.
Phil Spray
Music Director
Phil is a long-ago product of the Lutheran school system. He holds music degrees from Indiana University.  Phil works closely with Pastor Fiene to direct Advent’s worship through music, particularly through the music that is the Lutheran Church’s rich heritage. He leads the adult choir, arranges and composes.
Phil is a regular performer on baroque period instruments with choirs and orchestras throughout the United States. He is co-founder of the Indianapolis Baroque Orchestra and founding director of Musik Ekkelsia, a period instrument ensemble dedicated to bringing sacred music of the baroque period to contemporary sacred spaces. He has produced and recorded Lutheran baroque music with Concordia Publishing House, the international label Sono Luminus,  Seraphic Fire and Indie Baroque.
He and his wife, Judy, have been married  35 years and live in Indianapolis, IN., 
Deb Trewartha 2014 Preschool Director small
Deb Trewartha
Assistant Music Director Preschool Director
Deb has been involved in church work since 1988 when she left her position of 7 years as director of the Zionsville High School Choral Department to start a family while accepting the position of Music Director at Messiah Lutheran Church in Indianapolis.
She began her work at Advent in 1997 as the Director of Youth Music. In 2000, when Advent decided to open a Preschool, Deb was hired into the position of Preschool Director as well. Her experience in administration and education and her love of children and years in the Lutheran Church – Missouri Synod made the job a perfect fit.
Deb holds a Bachelors Degree in Vocal Music Education from Depauw University and a Master’s Degree from Butler University . She and her husband Kevin have 3 children and reside in Zionsville , IN. 
Phil Lehman

After serving other churches in Indianapolis and South Carolina, Phil returned to Advent in 2007. In addition to playing for services, he assists Deb Trewartha with the youth, accompanies the choirs, and is our dedicated wedding organist. He also applies his computer skills by recording and posting services on the church website. Phil is active in the American Guild of Organists and other organizations, and has earned many credentials in the areas of piano, theory, organ performance, liturgy, worship and choral music.

Church Leadership

The leadership of Advent Lutheran Church consists of lay men and women who give of their time, talent, and treasure to assist with the spiritual needs of the congregation.  Through their oversight of educational programs, fellowship, mission work, and other works of compassion – done in thanksgiving to Christ who has saved us by grace through faith – we pray we share that same message of forgiveness with our neighbors and to the far reaches of the world. 

As Christ’s Church, until he come again, we still must operate in the kingdom of the left and must pay bills, maintain facilities, manage bank accounts and mortgages, and plan for the future on this side of creation.  We are blessed with leaders who share their time, talent and treasure for these needs as well.

We give thanks to God for blessing us with these people and ask that you would pray for His guidance, wisdom, and mercy upon them as they serve our congregation.

Officers of Advent

  • Chuck Long, Chair
  • Eric Hubert, Vice Chair
  • Diane Sturek, Treasurer
  • Heidi Thayer, Secretary
  • Rick Cramer, Financial Secretary
  • Amanda Probst & Amanda Morris, Co-School Superintendents

Boards & Committees

  • Board of Elders – Monte Weimer, Chair
  • Board of Trustees – Mark Harris, Chair
  • Board of Evangelism –  
  • Board of Education – Cathy Middaugh, Chair
  • Board of Missions – Stacy Alldredge, Chair
  • Board of Fellowship – Denise Long, Chair
  • Board of Stewardship – Gene Konradi, Chair
  • School Board – 
  • Tech Committee Lead – Jim Dowling


    • Tom Casciani
    • Andy Fordice
    • Mark Halverson
    • Mark Harris
    • Larry Irving
    • Mark Mayer
    • Craig Phillips
    • Monte Weimer